Chorizo & Kale Pasta

We recently signed up for our local CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) from a local farmer here in Portland.  I love the weekly fresh fruits and veggies we get but I have to say I’m over the kale.  To say I hate kale is an understatement.  I can’t understand why people like this vile weed . . . unless it has tons of bacon or sausage in it.  So I decided to try out a new recipe that could incorporate the ridiculous amount of kale I got in our CSA last week, while still tricking myself into enjoying it.

Chorizo & Kale Pasta Recipe:

18 Ounces of DeLallo Gluten Free Brown Rice Shells Pasta

2 Tablespoons of Ghee or Grass Fed Butter

1/4 Cup Extra-Virgin Olive Oil

1 Medium Onion (Finely Chopped)

3 Cloves of Garlic (Minced)

3 Olympic Provisions Smoked Chorizo (Cut Into Bite Sized Pieces)

3 Cups of Kale (Coarsely Chopped)

Red Chili Flakes to Taste

Salt & Pepper to Taste

Cook pasta according to your brand’s directions.  I like to use my Le Creuset 6.75QT oval dutch oven so I can make this dish using one pot.  Once your pasta is cooked, drain pasta and set to the side.  On medium heat, melt the butter in your oval dutch oven.  Add onion and saute until just barely soft.  Add olive oil, chorizo, and garlic to the onions and continue cooking for about 8-10 minutes.  Add kale and chili flakes and continue cooking until the kale is wilted, about 1-2 minutes.  Add the cooked pasta to the chorizo mixture and toss until fully combined.  Add salt, pepper, and additional red chili flakes to taste.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

