Granny Bunny’s Chicken Salad

My mom, whom we lovingly call Granny Bunny, makes the best chicken salad.  But I have to say, I think I may have given her a run for her money with this recipe.  I took the main ingredients from her original recipe, but put my own twist it.

Granny Bunny’s Chicken Salad Recipe:

8 Cups of Shredded Chicken (I Typically Use Two Rotisserie Chickens from New Seasons – Save the Bones To Make Your Own Bone Broth)

1 Teaspoon of Sea Salt

1/2 Teaspoon of Ground Pepper

1 Tablespoon of Annie’s Organic Dijon Mustard

1 Teaspoon of Dry Mustard

2 Tablespoons of Sweet Creek Foods Organic Dill Relish

Add these ingredients half at a time until you get the right consistency to your liking.

2 Cups of Red Grapes (Sliced in Half)

6 Celery Stalks (Finely Diced)

2 Granny Smith Apples (Finely Diced)

2 Cups of Primal Kitchen Mayo

2 Tablespoons of Clover Honey (Optional)

1 Cup of Slivered Almonds

Combine the chicken, salt, pepper, both mustards, and dill relish into a large bowl.  I then start by adding half the grapes, celery, apples, and mayo.  Stir all the ingredients together but most likely it will be too dry.  Next, I stir in another 1/4 of the ingredients.  If still needed, I will stir in the remaining 1/4 of the ingredients. The trick is to find your favorite consistency.  Some people like chicken salad a little more wet, some a little more dry, I’m like baby bear and like it right in the middle.  I then sprinkle in the almonds and fold in the honey.  The worst part, but I think the most important, chicken salad always tastes better refrigerated overnight.  So unfortunately, you’ll need to wait for the next day to enjoy.  I like to use my chicken salad made into sandwiches using New Cascadia’s Honey Gold Bread, or spoon it onto butter lettuce, and I serve it with veggies and a side of my Oma’s Veggie Dip.

Leave a Reply

