Paleo Eclairs

First, I have to apologize, because after you read this one, you’ll only want to eat these forever. The last two days in Portland have been crazy snow days. So yesterday, I set my sights on making these eclairs.

I always hated doughnuts growing up, but put an eclair in front of me and I’d devour it. I think it was the crunchier shell of the eclair I liked, or maybe the surprise of the velvety filling on the inside, or maybe the chocolate glaze, or maybe the combo of all three.

Forewarning, these are labor intensive to make, but so worth it. I didn’t have a pastry bag or piping tip (I would highly recommend using one) since the pastries will come out more uniformly sized. I wasn’t about to brace the elements and venture out to the store to get one, so I used a ziploc bag with a hole cut in it.

For this recipe, you’ll need to purchase Jenni Hulet’s new cookbook My Paleo Patisserie. I used her pâte à choux recipe for the eclairs, her pastry cream recipe for the filling, and her chocolate foundant glaze recipe for the glaze.

Leave a Reply

