Bunny’s Mexican Casserole

While shopping at Whole Foods today, I ran across Siete’s new almond flour grain free tortilla chips. I’m quite certain the people next to me thought I was crazy, as I let out a shriek of joy and then proceeded to take home six bags. Once home, I knew exactly the first recipe I wanted to make. My mom Bonnie, whom we lovingly call Bunny, has made this recipe since I was little. I’ve been craving it almost everyday since I’ve had to give up corn, so I was more than excited to try experimenting with her recipe to recreate my favorite childhood dish. The outcome was perfect and my husband gave it two thumbs up, since his mouth was too full of casserole. Pretty sure even Bunny would eat this one.

Mexican Casserole Recipe:

2 Pounds Grass-Fed Ground Beef

1 Small Onion

Salt & Pepper (To Taste)

12 Ounces of Cream of Chicken Soup (See My Notes Below For Modifications)

12 Ounces of Barcelona’s Red Sauce

1 Can of Green Chilies (4 Ounces)

3/4 Pound of Shredded Provolone Cheese

2 Bags of Siete Grain Free Sea Salt Tortilla Chips

 

In a deep skillet over medium heat, brown the ground beef, onion, and salt and pepper. Drain the grease and return beef to the pan. Add the cream of chicken soup, red sauce, and green chilies to the skillet and stir until fully incorporated. Lightly grease a 9×13 glass casserole dish with coconut oil. Next layer the casserole in the following order: crush about one bag of chips in the bottom of the pan, layer half the meat sauce, then half the cheese, then 3/4 bag of crushed chips, the remaining meat sauce, the remaining half of the cheese, and them crush the remaining 1/4 bag over the top. Bake for 11 minutes on high in the microwave. Feel free to top with cilantro, pico de gallo, lactose-free sour cream, salsa, and avocados.

Cream of Chicken Recipe Modiciations:

For this recipe, I used Halle Cottis’s Cream of Chicken recipe with the following modifications:

Substitute Arrowroot Flour for the Potato Flour

Substitute Organic Valley Lactose Free Whole Milk for the Coconut Milk

Substitute Green Valley Organics Lactose Free Sour Cream  for the Greek Yogurt

Substitute 1 Clove of Garlic for the Garlic Powder

Leave a Reply

