Orange Chicken & Cauli-Rice

I used to be obsessed with Chinese take-out and my go to was always to order orange chicken with brown rice.  Since eating more strictly paleo, I have definitely missed the breaded and fried versions of take-out cuisine so I scoured the internet for creative options.

For this recipe, I used Jessica Gaertner’s Sticky Orange Chicken recipe and added a few twists of my own.  You may want to double the batch, I know I do at my house, since my husband usually goes back for seconds and thirds of this dish.

Orange Chicken Recipe Modifications:

For the orange marmalade, I use St. Dalfour’s Orange Marmalade, which you can find at New Seasons, Whole Foods, Fred Meyer, and my friend in Utah says even at Walmart. 

1 Teaspoon of Fresh Squeezed Lemon Juice

1 Tablesppon of Lemon Zest

1 Tablespoon of Orange Zest

1 Teaspoon of Red Pepper Flakes (Or More if You Like it Spicier)

1/8 Teaspoon of Ginger

1 Tablespoon of Honey

I recommend putting it in the broiler to get it just a tad crispier and I garnish mine with green onions and sesame seeds.

Cauli-Rice Recipe:

I’m super lazy so I usually buy my cauli-rice in the freezer section at Trader Joe’s.  If you’re feeling ambitious, and you have an awesome food processor, it is super simple to make and you can use Dana of Minimalist Baker’s Cauliflower Rice recipe tutorial.

 

   

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

